Llandrillo Yn Rhos St Trillo

Home > Churches > Llandrillo Yn Rhos St Trillo

Exterior photograph of Llandrillo yn Rhos St Trillo

St. Trillo

Sant Trillo

Ordnance Survey Reference:

SH 832806


Grade II*

Pre-1974 county:


1974 to 1996 county:


Post-1996 county:


The ancient parish of Llandrillo yn Rhos lies in the extreme north-west corner of Denbighshire. It originally contained the townships of Eirias, Colwyn, Rhiw, Cilgwyn, Llwyd Coed, Mochdre, and Dinerth (also spelled Dinarth). It was bounded on the east by Llysfaen parish, on the west by Llangwstenin and Eglwysrhos parishes (in Caernarfonshire), and on the north by the sea.

Until 1924, the parish of Llysfaen and the adjacent township of Eirias formed a detached portion of Caernarfonshire, within Denbighshire. There was also a detached portion of Eirias township in the extreme north-west corner of the parish.

The parish of Colwyn was created in 1844, Colwyn Bay in 1893, and Brynymaen in 1900. Most of the township of Cilgwyn was transferred to the parish of Llaneilian.

St. Trillo's church was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. It was whitewashed, to serve as a landmark for ships at sea. The church was restored in 1857, further work being done in 1873 and 1898.

• • •

For family history information about the churches and parish, visit the GenUKI Llandrillo yn Rhos page.